[THOUGHTS]: The K2— Episode 1

I don’t often find myself watching action dramas…unless of course we’re talking about action within sageuks. However, I am a fan of Ji Chang Wook, and I thought the previews for this drama looked pretty interesting. Here are my first impressions of episode one!


Wow, so this drama is definitely action packed! I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many fighting scenes within one episode of a drama before. Ji Chang Wook is definitely working hard for that money, and I clearly see why he recently commented that he wanted this drama to be his farewell to the action genre.

I went into this drama with low expectations for two reasons. The first being that this is my first time seeing Yoona on screen and SM idols are usually notorious for their lackluster acting abilities. Secondly, I’m usually not a big fan of modern dramas—especially when they are focused around politics. Surprisingly, this drama was pretty exciting, and the episode seemed to breeze by rather than drag on. I’m not quite sure how I feel about Yoona’s acting yet. I wasn’t blown away, but then again, she didn’t have many scenes and the poor girl was running bare foot through the streets for most of the episode. I have to give it to her there; it must have been a tedious task.

The episode doesn’t set up much of a backstory, so you’re left wondering how all these different parts and characters are going to connect. Based on the preview for episode two, I think it’s safe to say that some of this missing information will be revealed in the near future. But I’m not mad about the shroud of mystery that is still looming over the plot and characters. It adds to the suspense and I think it would be too early and a mistake to expose all the background information so soon. One thing is quite clear from the start, and that is the ominous tone of the drama. It’s very evident that this drama is going to be dark, full of lies, betrayal, blood, and manipulation—and that makes for a thrilling ride in my opinion. I really appreciate how believable the characters are, and the tension between Choi Yoo-Jin (Song Yoon-A) and Jang Se-Joon (Cho Seong-Ha) definitely grabbed my attention in a good way. I’m looking forward to finding out who Ko An-Na (Yoona) is running from, why she is being held captive, and more on the dynamic between her and Choi Yoo-Jin. I also want to know Kim Je-Ha‘s (Ji Chang-Wook) story. We know he’s a trained and highly skilled soldier, but how did he go from soldier to working for an advertising company?

I’ll definitely be tuning in for episode two, and I’d recommend it to anyone looking for something new and captivating to watch.

You can check out the five minute highlight trailer for The K2 with English subs here.


Are you watching The K2? What do you think of it so far?

Leave a Reply

